Overpaid

They say I am overpaid;
They say I have summers off.
Class at Eight
Morning Duty at Seven-thirty,
If I am Lucky!
Five Journals Completed
One by one turned in
One by one graded
Five Short Lectures
The Joy of Teaching
Five Short Practice Assignments
Maybe Homework for you
One by one, turned in
One by one, graded
One hour to grade
Same hour to plan
Same hour to copy
Same hour to connect
To those that need it
Checking reading
Grading tests
Reading essays about ferrets
Keeping up on research
Tolerating new laws
Planning lessons
Finding connections
Building relationships
Calling parents, counselors
Making assessments
Organizing events
Coaching a team
Meeting with parents, counselors
Skewing data
Motivating reluctant students
Challenging them all
Preventing fights with kids and adults alike
One hour is over
My reward,
One more hour
Before the end
Fifteen minutes of reading
Staring out the window
Staring at their neighbor
Staring at the dirt under their nails
Picking their noses
Thirty minutes of shh, shh, shh
Three warnings
Multiple threats
It’s OVER.
Or is it?
My day is done;
My job is not.
They say I am overpaid;
They say I have summers off.

Leave a comment